Home / Accueil

War of 1812 Timeline: October 1813 - December 1813

Timeline PDF

October 1813 - December 1813

October 1813 

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower Canada: detachment of the Royal Navy, 1st Battalion of the Royal Marines.

1 October 1813

Skirmish near Chateauguay, Lower Canada.

2 October 1813

A group of 133 African Americans from Chesapeake Bay arrive in Halifax, Nova Scotia.

The War of 1812 presented an opportunity for enslaved African Americans to settle and live in freedom in British North America.  One of the first groups to arrive in Nova Scotia came from the Chesapeake Bay area, following the British advances on Washington, District of Columbia and Baltimore, Maryland in August and September of 1813. The majority of African Americans who settled in the province came after Vice-Admiral Alexander Cochrane's proclamation of April 1814, which offered status as "free settlers" to all who desired to leave the United States and live in British colonies. Some 2,000 eventually settled in Nova Scotia, finding freedom in the process. However, as with the African American "Loyalists" who preceded them, they found life in Nova Scotia was not without its challenges.

4 October 1813    

The American revenue cutter Vigilant captures the privateer Dart off Rhode Island.

 

Action at McGregor's Creek, Upper Canada.  American forces under Major General William Henry Harrison clash with British Major-General Henry Procter's British and First Nations rearguard.

5 October 1813

Battle of the Thames, Upper Canada.

With Lake Erie under U.S. control following the defeat of the British fleet, Major-General Henry Procter, unable to resupply his garrison, was forced to abandon his base at Amherstburg and withdrew toward Burlington Heights via the Thames River.  The poorly managed retreat made slow progress, and Major-General William Henry Harrison's forces caught up to the British and First Nations allies who made a stand at Moraviantown .  The demoralized British were quickly overwhelmed by a charge from the Kentucky mounted riflemen.  First Nations fighters positioned on the British flank in a nearby swamp also withdrew but not before intense fighting with the American horsemen.  The allies suffered many casualties including the death of Shawnee Chief Tecumseh.  The victory secured American possession of southwest Upper Canada.

 

The Portsmouth Packet (formerly the Liverpool Packet) is captured by HMS Fantome off Mount Desert Island, District of Maine; reacquired by her original owners she resumes privateering as the Liverpool Packet.

6 October 1813

Commodore Isaac Chauncey's Lake Ontario squadron captures six of seven transports in a British convoy sailing from York to Kingston.  Among the approximately 250 prisoners are the two flank companies of the De Watteville Regiment.

12 October 1813

American raids of Missisiquoi Bay, Lower Canada.

14 October 1813

Major General William Henry Harrison signs a provisional armistice in Detroit, Michigan Territory with First Nations that have abandoned the British alliance.

16 October 1813

 

Fort Astoria, Columbia District (Oregon country) is sold to the North West Company.

British North West Company agents brought news of the declaration of war, and that a naval expedition was on its way to capture Fort Astoria, to the Pacific coast in December 1812.  Initially, employees of John Jacob Astor's Pacific Fur Company, who operated the post, were hopeful that American reinforcements would arrive first.  By the fall, however, no assistance had arrived and when North West Company traders suggested selling the fort Astor's agents negotiated good terms and peacefully gave up their post. Commander William Black of HMS Racoon took formal possession of the post, renamed Fort George, for the crown on 13 December 1813.  After the war the fort was nominally returned to American control but British fur traders continued to operate it until 1848.

 

The first troops of Major General James Wilkinson's expedition to attack Montreal leave Sackets Harbor, New York and land on Grenadier Island at the head of the St. Lawrence River. The island will be the staging point for the descent of the river.

19 October 1813 

U.S. Major General Wade Hampton crosses the border near Odelltown, Lower Canada en route to Montreal.

25 October 1813

United States Master Commandant Jesse Elliott assumes command of the Lake Erie fleet after Captain Oliver Hazard Perry is ordered to the East Coast.

25-26 October 1813

The Battle of Chateauguay, Lower Canada.

Together with the Battle of Crysler's Farm, the Battle of the Chateauguay ended a two-pronged American campaign against Montreal in October 1813.  Aware of Major General Wade Hampton's advance into Lower Canada, Lieutenant-Colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry, charged with defending the Upper Richelieu, built a series of fortified positions along the Chateauguay River.  Hampton advanced with about 3,000 soldiers while Salaberry had under his command roughly 400 militia and First Nations fighters as well as 1,300 men led by Lieutenant-Colonel George Macdonell.  Dividing his force for frontal and flank attacks, Hampton's brigades retreated in confusion after skirmishing with Salaberry's troops.  This major defeat is remembered for its strategic consequences, the achievement of a few militia repelling American regulars, and for the large number of French-Canadian defenders.

End of October 1813 

U.S. Major General Wade Hampton retreats to Chateaugay, New York.

November 1813

Arrival of British reinforcements at Quebec City, Lower Canada: 70th Regiment.

 

Reinforcements enable the British to establish a naval blockade of the entire United States eastern seaboard south of New England. New England's exemption from the blockade is partly due to British dependence on trade with the region via New Brunswick and Nova Scotia.

 

The British begin constructing a road in Upper Canada from Kempenfelt Bay on Lake Simcoe to Penetanguishene, on Georgian Bay in order to open a supply route to Fort Mackinac, Michigan Territory and points west. The new route replaces that lost when the Americans gained control of Lake Erie in September 1813.

1-2 November 1813

Skirmish at French Creek, New York. British naval forces from Kingston unsuccessfully attack the vessels carrying Major General James Wilkinson's army down the St. Lawrence River.

3 November 1813

American forces attack the Muscogee (Creek) Nation village of Tallushatchee, Mississippi Territory.

6 November 1813

Major General James Wilkinson's army, carried in a flotilla of boats, is fired upon and forces a night passage past the British Fort Wellington at Prescott, Upper Canada. The army continues its descent of the St. Lawrence River on its way to attack Montreal, Lower Canada.

9 November 1813

American troops under Major General Andrew Jackson defeat Red Stick Muscogee (Creek) fighters besieging the friendly Muscogee (Creek) village of Talladega, Mississippi Territory.

10 November 1813

Skirmish at Hoople's Creek, Upper Canada.

During the American campaign down the St. Lawrence River to capture Montreal, Major General James Wilkinson landed troops at the head of the Long Sault Rapids and sent Brigadier General Jacob Brown along with 2,500 officers and men to clear the road to Cornwall, Upper Canada, and seize much needed supplies.  After stopping to repair a bridge at Hoople's Creek, Brown was ambushed by 300 local militia commanded by British regular officer Major James Dennis of the 49th Regiment of Foot.  Concealed among the trees, the militia had a strong position but slowly withdrew against the much larger American force.  Dennis succeeded in delaying the American advance enough to allow 150 wagons of British supplies to be safely removed from Cornwall to Coteau-du-Lac, Lower Canada. 

 

British gunboats commanded by Royal Navy Captain William Mulcaster engage American gunboats protecting the flotilla of boats carrying Major General James Wilkinson's army on the St. Lawrence River. The British withdraw when they come under effective American artillery fire from the shore of the river.

11 November 1813

Battle of Crysler's Farm, Upper Canada.

In October Major General James Wilkinson began a coordinated campaign to capture Montreal with between 7,000 and 8,000 soldiers based at Sackets Harbor.  He was to link up with Major General Wade Hampton's army which was to advance on Montreal along the Richelieu River.  British Lieutenant-Colonel Joseph Morrison's force of about 1,100 men pursued Wilkinson's flotilla down the St. Lawrence River.  When the Americans turned to engage with about 3,000 of their force, the British landed and took up a strong defensive position on John Crysler's field.  After a bloody battle Wilkinson's troops hastily returned to their boats. They descended the river to French Mills, New York, where they took up winter quarters abandoning efforts to capture Montreal after hearing news of Hampton's defeat at Chateauguay

12 November 1813

A hurricane strikes Halifax, Nova Scotia causing extensive damage to the ships of the Royal Navy squadron.

13 November 1813

Skirmish at Nanticoke Creek, Upper Canada. The Norfolk County Militia engage a group of American sympathizers. There are light casualties on both sides.

24 November 1813

The Loyal London Volunteers, a unit of the Upper Canada Militia, is formed.

25 November 1813

The Loyal Kent Volunteers militia unit is formed in Upper Canada.

29 November 1813

Battle of Autosse, Mississippi Territory. Despite inflicting significant casualties on a force of Muscogee (Creek) Nation fighters, American troops from Georgia do not achieve a clear victory.

10 December 1813

The burning of the town of Niagara, Upper Canada. 

By December 1813, U.S. Brigadier General George McClure was left with only 100 soldiers to defend his base at Niagara.  On 10 December, after giving the inhabitants little notice, he ordered the destruction of the town and withdrew his men to Fort Niagara, New York.  Elderly and sickly men, women and children were turned out into a fierce winter blizzard.  The treasonous "Canadian Volunteers," led by Joseph Willcocks burned the first capital of Upper Canada and pillaged the wretched people.  British and Canadian troops arrived that evening, too late to save any buildings but found Fort George in better condition, complete with artillery and camp equipment.  McClure had acted against his orders and was forced to resign. 

13 December 1813

Lieutenant-General Gordon Drummond takes command in Upper Canada.  He is the first Canadian born general officer in British service.

15 December 1813

Skirmish at McCrae's House, Upper Canada.

Following the British defeat at Moraviantown on 5 October 1813, the Americans controlled the Lower Thames River Valley.  They dispatched a detachment of about 40 officers and men, mostly of the 26th U.S. Regiment of Infantry, to Thomas McCrae's farmhouse using it as an observation post.  Sent down the Thames to collect cattle, British Lieutenant Henry Medcalf and 32 men of the Norfolk and Middlesex Militia, Kent Volunteers, and Provincial Dragoons came upon the Americans and surrounded them killing one and taking the rest captive to Long Point, Upper Canada.  After this engagement the Americans no longer stationed troops so far up the river and instead sent raiding parties into the area resulting in clashes like the Battle of Longwoods, Upper Canada in March 1814.

17 December 1813

The Lower Canada Militia raid Derby, Vermont, capturing supplies and burning barracks and storehouses.

19 December 1813

British capture Fort Niagara, New York in a surprise night assault.

During a snow storm on the night of 18-19 December 1813, British troops and Canadian militia volunteers crossed the Niagara River at Youngstown and attacked Fort Niagara.  An advance party led by British Sergeant Andrew Spearman moved unseen through the village of Youngstown, killing or capturing the American guards posted outside the fort. His group was able to force the main gates and the attackers stormed inside.  After a fierce struggle the fort was taken, along with an immense quantity of weapons and supplies.  Seventy-nine Americans were killed or wounded, and 350 surrendered.  The attackers lost five killed and six wounded.  The British occupied Fort Niagara, controlling the mouth of the river until the end of the War of 1812. 

19-30 December 1813

British and First Nations allies fight American troops at Lewiston and Fort Schlosser, burning the communities of Lewiston, Tuscarora settlement, Black Rock and Buffalo, all in New York, in revenge for the burning of Niagara, Upper Canada.

On 19 December, a force of British troops and First Nations defeated American Militia at Black Rock.  On 30 December, the U.S. militia force under Major General Amos Hall was defeated near Buffalo.  The British burned Lewiston, Tuscarora, Black Rock and Buffalo, as punishment for the burning of Niagara. Over 300 houses were burned, and the whole frontier from Lake Ontario to Lake Erie was depopulated.   Four U.S. armed schooners were also burned, and a large quantity of military stores and weapons captured or destroyed.  At Lewiston, New York a number of American civilians were killed by First Nations.   The attack on the Tuscarora settlement brought Onondowahgah (Seneca) and Skaruhreh (Tuscarora) fighters into the war on the side of the United States. 

23 December 1813

United States forces attack the Muscogee (Creek) Nation village at Eccanachaca, Mississippi Territory.

25 December 1813

HMS Belvidera captures USS Vixen off the coast of Delaware.

← Back    |    Next →

War of 1812 Timeline


Section 1: 1775 - November 1811
Section 2: January 1812 - June 1812
Section 3: July 1812 - September 1812
Section 4: October 1812 - December 1812
Section 5: January 1813 - March 1813
Section 6: April 1813 - June 1813
Section 7: July 1813 - September 1813
Section 8: October 1813 - December 1813
Section 9: January 1814 - March 1814
Section 10: April 1814 - June 1814
Section 11: July 1814 - December 1814
Section 12: January 1815 - 1871

Government of Canada official War of 1812 Bicentennial Website

RELATED LINKS

Home / Accueil

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812 - D’octobre 1813 à décembre 1813

Chronologie PDF


D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813

Octobre 1813 

Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec : un contingent de la Royal Navy, le 1er bataillon des Royal Marines.

1 octobre 1813

Une escarmouche a lieu près de Châteauguay, dans le Bas-Canada.

2 octobre 1813

Un groupe de 133 Afro-Américains arrive à Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse en provenance de la baie de Chesapeake.

La guerre de 1812 offre la possibilité aux esclaves afro-américains de s'installer en Amérique du Nord britannique pour y vivre en liberté. L'un des premiers groupes arrive en Nouvelle-Écosse en provenance de la région de la baie de Chesapeake à la suite de l'avancée des Britanniques sur Washington, dans de district de Columbia, et sur Baltimore, dans le Maryland, en août et septembre 1813. La majorité des Afro-Américains qui s'établissent en Nouvelle-Écosse arrivent après la proclamation du vice-amiral Alexander Cochrane en avril 1814, selon laquelle tous ceux qui désirent quitter les États-Unis pour s'installer dans les colonies britanniques peuvent le faire en tant que pionniers libres. Environ 2 000 d'entre eux s'établiront en Nouvelle-Écosse et s'affranchiront ainsi de l'esclavage. Ils constateront cependant, comme l'ont fait les Afro-Américains « loyalistes » avant eux, que la vie en Nouvelle-Écosse compte aussi son lot de difficultés.

4 octobre 1813     

Le navire de la douane américaine Vigilant saisit le corsaire Dart au large du Rhode Island.

 

Des combats se déroulent sur le ruisseau McGregor dans le Haut-Canada. Les forces américaines du major-général William Henry Harrison affrontent l'arrière-garde britannique et amérindienne du major-général Henry Procter.

5 octobre 1813

Bataille de la Thames, dans le Haut-Canada.

Le lac Érié étant désormais dominé par les États-Unis en raison de la défaite de la flotte britannique, le major-général Henry Procter, incapable d'approvisionner sa garnison, se voit obligé d'abandonner sa base d'Amherstburg et se replie en direction de Burlington Heights le long de la rivière Thames. La retraite, mal organisée, se déroule lentement, et les forces du major-général William Henry Harrison rattrapent les Britanniques et leurs alliés autochtones, qui doivent prendre position à Moraviantown pour se défendre. Les soldats britanniques, démoralisés, sont rapidement submergés par la charge des fusiliers montés provenant du Kentucky. Les guerriers amérindiens combattant sur le flanc des Britanniques dans un marécage à proximité battent également en retraite, mais pas avant une lutte intense avec les cavaliers américains. Les alliés subissent de nombreuses pertes, dont la mort du chef shawnee Tecumseh. Grâce à cette victoire, les Américains consolident leur domination sur le Sud-Ouest du Haut‑Canada.

 

Le Portsmouth Packet (anciennement le Liverpool Packet) est capturé par le  HMS Fantome au large de l'île des Monts Déserts, dans le district du Maine. Il sera racheté par son premier propriétaire et reprendra ses activités de corsaire sous son nom d'origine, Liverpool Packet.

6 octobre 1813

L'escadron du commodore Isaac Chauncey sur le lac Ontario s'empare de six des sept navires de transport qui composent un convoi britannique parti de York pour Kingston. Parmi les prisonniers, au nombre d'environ 250, on compte les deux compagnies de flanc du régiment de Watteville.

12 octobre 1813

Des raids américains ont lieu dans la baie Missisquoi, dans le Bas-Canada.

14 octobre 1813

Le major-général William Henry Harrison signe un armistice provisoire à Détroit, dans le territoire du Michigan, avec les Premières nations qui ont rompu leur alliance avec les Britanniques.

16 octobre 1813

 

Le fort Astoria, dans le district du Columbia (pays de l'Oregon), est vendu à la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest.

En décembre 1812, les agents britanniques de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest transmettent sur la côte du Pacifique la nouvelle du déclenchement de la guerre et de l'approche d'une expédition navale britannique visant à capturer le fort Astoria. Les employés de la Compagnie de fourrures du Pacifique de John Jacob Astor, qui exploitent le fort, espèrent d'abord que des renforts américains arriveront en premier. À l'automne, cependant, aucune aide ne leur est parvenue et, lorsque des marchands de la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest proposent d'acheter le poste, les agents d'Astor négocient un prix avantageux et cèdent le fort de façon pacifique. Le 13 décembre 1813, le commandant William Black du HMS Racoon prend officiellement possession du poste au nom de la couronne et le rebaptise fort George. Après la guerre, le fort est rétrocédé aux Américains, mais dans les faits, il continue d'être exploité par des commerçants de fourrures britanniques jusqu'en 1848.

 

Les premières troupes de l'expédition du major-général James Wilkinson contre Montréal quittent Sackets Harbor, dans l'État de New York, et débarquent sur l'île Grenadier en amont du fleuve Saint-Laurent. L'île servira de point de transit lors de la descente du fleuve.

19 octobre 1813 

Le major-général Wade Hampton traverse la frontière près d'Odelltown, dans le Bas-Canada, et se dirige vers Montréal.

25 octobre 1813

Le commandant en chef américain Jesse Elliott prend le commandement de la flotte du lac Érié lorsque le capitaine Oliver Hazard Perry reçoit l'ordre de se rendre sur la côte est.

25 et
26 octobre 1813

Bataille de la Châteauguay, dans le Bas-Canada.

En octobre 1813, avec la bataille de la Ferme Crysler, la bataille de la Châteauguay met fin à une campagne américaine sur deux fronts contre Montréal. Mis au fait de la percée du major général Wade‑Hampton au Bas-Canada, le lieutenant-colonel Charles-Michel de Salaberry, chargé de défendre le Bas-Richelieu, amorce la construction de postes fortifiés le long de la rivière Châteauguay. Hampton peut compter sur environ 3 000 soldats tandis que Salaberry est à la tête de quelque 400 miliciens et guerriers autochtones et de 1 300 hommes dirigés par le lieutenant-colonel George Macdonell. Hampton divise ses hommes pour attaquer sur deux fronts, droit devant et par le côté. Mais ses brigades se retirent dans la confusion après une escarmouche avec les troupes de Salaberry. Cette importante défaite fait date en raison de ses conséquences stratégiques, soit l'exploit réalisé par quelques miliciens capables de repousser les soldats réguliers de l'armée américaine et le grand nombre de Canadiens français parmi les troupes de défense.

Fin octobre 1813 

L'armée du major-général Wade Hampton bat en retraite jusqu'à Châteauguay, dans l'État de New  York.

Novembre 1813

  Arrivée de renforts britanniques à Québec : le 70e régiment.

 

Grâce à l'arrivée de renforts, les Britanniques peuvent mettre en place un blocus de tout le littoral est des États-Unis au sud de la Nouvelle-Angleterre. Une exemption est accordée à la Nouvelle-Angleterre en partie en raison de la dépendance des Britanniques envers les échanges commerciaux effectués avec cette région au Nouveau-Brunswick et en Nouvelle-Écosse.

 

Les Britanniques commencent la construction d'une route entre la baie de Kempenfelt sur le lac Simcoe et Penetanguishene, sur la baie Georgienne, afin d'ouvrir une nouvelle voie qui servira à l'approvisionnement du fort Mackinac dans le Michigan et de postes plus à l'ouest. La nouvelle route remplace celle qui a été perdue lorsque les Américains ont pris le contrôle du lac Érié en septembre 1813.

1 et 2 novembre 1813

Une escarmouche a lieu à French Creek, dans l'État de New York. Des forces navales britanniques provenant de Kingston attaquent sans succès les navires transportant l'armée du major-général James Wilkinson sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent.

3 novembre 1813

Des troupes américaines attaquent Tallushatchee, au Mississippi, un village de la nation Muscogee (Creek).

6 novembre 1813

L'armée du major-général James Wilkinson, transportée à bord d'une flottille de bateaux, est la cible de coups de feu mais réussit à passer le fort Wellington à Prescott, dans le Haut-Canada, pendant la nuit. L'armée continue sa descente du fleuve Saint-Laurent, en route pour attaquer Montréal, dans le Bas-Canada.

9 novembre 1813

Des troupes américaines menées par le major-général Andrew Jackson défont les guerriers Red Stick Muscogee (Creek) qui assiègent Talladega, au Mississippi, un village Muscogee (Creek) allié aux Américains.

10 novembre 1813

Des combats ont lieu au ruisseau Hoople, dans le Haut-Canada.

Pendant la campagne américaine du fleuve Saint-Laurent qui vise à capturer Montréal, le major‑général James Wilkinson débarque des troupes aux rapides du Long Sault et charge le brigadier-général Jacob Brown et 2 500 soldats et officiers de dégager la route menant à Cornwall, dans le Haut-Canada, et de saisir les provisions se trouvant dans la ville, dont la force a grand besoin. Tandis qu'il est arrêté au ruisseau Hoople pour réparer un pont, Brown est attaqué par 300 miliciens locaux commandés par un officier régulier britannique, le major James Dennis du 49e régiment d'infanterie. Cachés dans les arbres, les miliciens occupent une position avantageuse mais sont lentement repoussés par la force américaine, beaucoup plus nombreuse. Dennis réussit tout de même à retarder suffisamment l'avancée américaine pour permettre aux Britanniques de protéger leurs provisions de Cornwall en les expédiant dans 150 chariots jusqu'à Coteau-du-Lac, dans le Bas‑Canada.

 

Des canonnières britanniques commandées par le capitaine de la Royal Navy William Mulcaster attaquent les canonnières américaines qui protègent la flottille de bateaux transportant l'armée du major-général James Wilkinson sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Les Britanniques battent en retraite lorsqu'ils sont la cible de tirs d'artillerie provenant de la rive américaine du fleuve.

11 novembre 1813

Bataille de la Ferme Crysler, dans le Haut-Canada.

En octobre, le major-général James Wilkinson lance une campagne coordonnée pour capturer Montréal en mettant à profit les 7 000 à 8 000 soldats stationnés à Sackets Harbor. Il doit se joindre à l'armée du major-général Wade Hampton, qui s'approchera de Montréal en remontant la rivière Richelieu. La force du lieutenant-colonel britannique Joseph Morrison, qui compte environ 1 100 hommes, pourchasse la flottille de Wilkinson sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Lorsque les Américains font volte-face pour engager le combat avec 3 000 de leurs hommes, les Britanniques débarquent et s'installent dans une position défensive avantageuse sur le champ de John Crysler . Après une bataille sanglante, les troupes de Wilkinson remontent rapidement dans leurs embarcations. Elles descendent le fleuve jusqu'à French Mills, dans l'État de New York, où elles passeront l'hiver, abandonnant leur projet de capturer Montréal lorsqu'elles apprennent la défaite de Hampton à Chateauguay .

12 novembre 1813

Un ouragan s'abat sur Halifax en Nouvelle-Écosse et cause d'importants dommages aux navires de l'escadron de la Royal Navy.

13 novembre 1813

Une escarmouche a lieu au ruisseau Nanticoke , dans le Haut-Canada. Les miliciens du comté de Norfolk assaillent un groupe de sympathisants des Américains. On rapporte quelques morts des deux côtés.

24 novembre 1813

L'unité de milice des volontaires loyaux de London est formée dans le Haut-Canada.

25 novembre 1813

L'unité de milice des volontaires loyaux de Kent est formée dans le Haut-Canada.

29 novembre 1813

Bataille d'Autosse, dans le territoire du Mississippi. Même si elles infligent des pertes importantes à une force de guerriers de la nation Muscogee (Creek), des troupes américaines venues de Géorgie ne réussissent pas à remporter une victoire absolue.

10 décembre 1813

La ville de Niagara dans le Haut-Canada est incendiée. 

En décembre 1813, le brigadier-général américain George McClure ne dispose plus que de 100 soldats pour défendre sa base de Niagara. Le 10 décembre, n'ayant donné qu'un court préavis aux citadins, il ordonne la destruction de la ville et renvoie ses hommes au fort Niagara, dans l'État de New York.  Les hommes âgés ou malades, les femmes et les enfants se retrouvent soudainement sans abris en pleine tempête de neige. Les traîtres « Volontaires canadiens », dirigés par Joseph Willcocks, incendient alors la première capitale du Haut-Canada et se livrent au pillage parmi les habitants désemparés. Les troupes britanniques et canadiennes arrivent ce soir-là : elles sont incapables de sauver les bâtiments de la ville mais constatent que le fort George est en meilleur état, ayant conservé ses pièces d'artillerie et son matériel de campement. McClure, qui a contrevenu à ses ordres, sera forcé de démissionner.

13 décembre 1813

Le lieutenant-général Gordon Drummond prend le commandement du Haut-Canada. Il est le premier officier général né au Canada à servir dans l'armée britannique.

15 decembre 1813

Une escarmouche a lieu à la maison de McCrae, dans le Haut-Canada.

À la suite de la défaite britannique de Moraviantown le 5 octobre 1813, les Américains dominent la vallée du cours inférieur de la Thames. Ils envoient un détachement de 40 soldats et officiers, principalement du 26e régiment d'infanterie des États-Unis, à la ferme de Thomas McCrae pour en faire un poste d'observation. Ayant reçu l'ordre de descendre la rivière pour récupérer du bétail, le lieutenant britannique Henry Medcalf et 32 hommes des milices de Norfolk et de Middlesex, des volontaires de Kent et des Provincial Dragoons tombent sur les Américains et les encerclent : ils tuent un homme et capturent les autres, qu'ils ramènent à Long Point dans le Haut-Canada. Après cette escarmouche, les Américains ne stationnent plus de troupes si loin en amont de la rivière, mais lancent plutôt des raids dans le secteur, comme celui à l'origine de la bataille de Longwoods, dans le Haut-Canada, en mars 1814.

17 décembre 1813

La milice du Bas-Canada lance un raid sur Derby, au Vermont. Elle s'empare de provisions et incendie des casernes et des entrepôts.

19 décembre 1813

Les Britanniques prennent le fort Niagara, dans l'État de New York, lors d'une attaque-surprise en pleine nuit.

Pendant la nuit du 18 au 19 décembre 1813, en pleine tempête de neige, des troupes britanniques et des miliciens canadiens volontaires traversent la rivière Niagara vis-à-vis Youngstown et attaquent le fort Niagara. L'avant-garde, dirigée par le sergent britannique Andrew Spearman, traverse le village de Youngstown sans se faire remarquer, puis tue ou capture les gardes postés à l'extérieur du fort. Le groupe réussit à ouvrir les portes principales du fort, et les attaquants se précipitent à l'intérieur. Après une lutte acharnée, le fort est pris et une grande quantité d'armes et de provisions est saisie. Soixante-dix-neuf Américains sont tués ou blessés, et 350 se rendent. Parmi les attaquants, on compte cinq morts et six blessés. Les Britanniques occupent le fort Niagara et contrôlent l'embouchure de la rivière jusqu'à la fin de la guerre de 1812.

Du 19 au
30 décembre 1813

Les Britanniques et leurs alliés amérindiens luttent contre des troupes américaines à Lewiston et au fort Schlosser. Ils incendient Lewiston, l'établissement de Tuscarora, Black Rock et Buffalo, tous dans l'État de New York, pour se venger de l'incendie qui a détruit Niagara, dans le Haut-Canada.

Le 19 décembre, une force britannique et amérindienne inflige une défaite à la milice américaine à Black Rock. Le 30 décembre, la troupe de miliciens américains sous les ordres du major-général Amos Hall est vaincue près de Buffalo. Les Britanniques incendient Lewiston, Tuscarora, Black Rock et Buffalo en représailles à l'incendie de Niagara. Plus de 300 maisons sont brûlées, et toute la frontière du lac Ontario jusqu'au lac Érié est dépeuplée. Quatre goélettes armées américaines sont également incendiées, et de vastes quantités d'armes et de provisions militaires sont saisies ou détruites. À Lewiston, dans l'État de New York, un certain nombre de civils américains sont tués par des Amérindiens. L'assaut sur l'établissement de Tuscarora convainc des guerriers onondowahgah (seneca) et skaruhreh (tuscarora) de joindre le camp des États-Unis. 

23 décember 1813

Des forces américaines attaquent Eccanachaca au Mississippi, un village de la nation Muscogee (Creek).

25 décembre 1813

Le HMS Belvidera capture l'USS Vixen au large du Delaware.

 

← Précédent    |    Suivant →

Chronologie de la guerre de 1812


Section 1 : De 1775 à novembre 1811
Section 2 : De janvier 1812 à juin 1812
Section 3 : De juillet 1812 à septembre 1812
Section 4 : D'octobre 1812 à décembre 1812
Section 5 : De janvier 1813 à mars 1813
Section 6 : D'avril 1813 à juin 1813
Section 7 : De juillet 1813 à septembre 1813
Section 8 : D'octobre 1813 à décembre 1813
Section 9 : De janvier 1814 à mars 1814
Section 10 : D'avril 1814 à juin 1814
Section 11 : De juillet 1814 à décembre 1814
Section 12 : De janvier 1815 à 1871

Site web officiel du Gouvernement du Canada du bicentenaire de la guerre de 1812

LIENS CONNEXES